Constant Chaos – the last month on fast forward

Hi there,

A combination of feeling too lazy and going on vacation got in the way of me writing anything for the past few weeks…but that didn’t keep me from eating!

I’m going to do a re-cap to bring us up to present day. My apologies, there was a lot of food over the last little bit.

image

 

Toasted focaccia bread, spinach, roast chicken, brie cheese, and red onion with a mayonnaise spread – toasted to perfection. A simple creation, but so yummy!

 

 

 

 

 

Dinner one lovely summer evening was Clams and Linguine, with a finish of crisp pancetta & fresh parsley.
We paired it with a Riesling that really complimented the pasta.

imageimage


 

 

 

image

 

My boyfriend invested in an ice cube tray that produces round ice cubes. he was very excited when he found it on Amazon, and proceeded to spend the (more than I would spend) amount on such a thing. It arrived and he immediately went to work, so that our pre-dinner Gin & Tonic’s could have round ice cubes. I have to say…well done inventor of round ice cube tray, it really brings something to the drink. 😉

 

 

imageimage
image

 

 

 

 

 


An easy and delicious brunch – potatoes with onions and seasoning, sliced avocado, and poached eggs. Wash it down with a lovely, crisp glass of Viognier.

 

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

 

 

image

Penne pasta with spicy Italian sausage, olives,
sundried tomatoes, fresh garlic and seasoning.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

imageimage

Gourmet popcorn with chili powder, black pepper, salt and melted butter drizzled over.
Give a good toss and enjoy! Best with wine and a feature film.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

image

For family dinner one evening we made a bunch of different varieties of pizza’s, but this one took the cake! Toppings: Artichokes, green olives, sundried tomatoes, red onion, crumbled goat cheese and basil chopped. We used whole wheat dough (thin crust) – bought in store, not homemade unfortunately. A simple tomato sauce with garlic for the base. This was a family favourite! Red or white wine as your preference.

image

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

At this time, my boyfriend and I take a much needed vacation in Florida where my parents have retired to on the Gulf of Mexico. Hitting two birds with one stone, we go in the month of August which is ungodly hot, but this means that I can be there for my Nana’s 90th birthday party, and my sister’s birthday, as well as get in some much needed time with my mom and dad who I see once a year if I’m lucky.

imageimage

First cooked meal by boyfriend for parents, a total hit!

Steak, with grilled asparagus and an oregano infused butter. We had homemade tabouleh on the side.

………………………………………………………………………….

My sister made a delicious and heaping plate of fish, vegetables, spinach mashed potatoes, sauerkraut, with an olive oil finish on the plate. In the family, my sister is the professional cook, so you’ll probably only see this one image (which also isn’t giving this plate justice) because I don’t want my readers wondering why the sister who can’t really cook is blogging about food. There is absolutely no sisterly competition going on here… 😉

image

image

A really nice lunch out with the boyfriend and my mom. My bf ordered Jambalaya, which was spicy and super flavourful, and came with a nice fat crawdad.

Since my mom, nor I had ever had a crawdad before (even though we lived in the south for 20 something years), my bf is now the only one of us that has eaten the insides of this shell fish (?). The oh-so-funny part of this lunch was that since none of us had eaten a crawdad before, my bf mistakenly sucked out the green gooey brain substance out of the head and nearly lost his stomach all over the table. After that I youtube’d videos of how to properly eat a crawdad and discovered there is in fact a specific system to doing this so you avoid exactly what happened. Go figure!

………………………………………………………………………………………………………

image

Nothing better than a frothy, iced coffee with
coffee liqueur and vodka in the afternoon to cool you
down and make you comfortable.

…………………………………………………………………………………………….

To complete this rather long, but hopefully enjoyable tale of the last month of food and wine, and other beverages, here is the perfectly cooked trout we had last night. The trout is sitting atop a lightly egged and breaded yam cake with a dollop of lemon aioli in between. This was accompanied by a Mediterranean-like salad comprised of olives, tomatoes, red onion, fresh jalapeno (diced and de-seeded), fresh parsley and lemon.

Bon Appetit!

image

image

Leave a Reply

