Gobble Gobble, eh!?

So Thanksgiving came and went and I didn’t write about it, which could be considered a sin in itself, so my apologies, but here goes!

Being an American in Canada, I am lucky enough to celebrate one of my favorite holidays twice, and I am surrounded by people willing to celebrate with me. 🙂

This year, I attended one dinner with my boyfriend’s family, and one dinner with our longtime friends. Both meals were delicious and getting together with people you love and can relax with is a gift of its own.

Fortunately, I only had to cook for the friend’s Thanksgiving, so I only spent one day cooking. I made my mom’s famous (to me) Green Bean Salad, and my own recipe of Deviled Eggs (famous to my friends). The pecan pie was going to be my third dish, but upon purchase of the ingredients at the grocery store I decided that I could purchase a pecan pie from the bakery at half the price. So no homemade pie, but someone made it and that should count for something!

imageimage

My Mom’s Famous Green Bean Salad Recipe:

2-3 bushels of green beans (blanched)
1 red onion (thinly sliced)

My addition:
Goat feta cheese (crumble in to dish at end)

Dressing:
4-6 cloves of garlic (finely chopped)
3/4 of a cup of olive oil
1 tbsp of dijon mustard
3 tbsp of balsamic vinegar

(Let sit over a couple hours for best flavor)

imageimage

Deviled Eggs Recipe:

1 dozen free-range (happy hens) eggs (or however many you’d like)
– boil and peel
– slice in half and remove yolk into separate bowl
– make sure to keep egg halves clean for final presentation
– you’ll want to mash in 2 whole boiled eggs to add white to yolk

3-4 tbsp of Helmann’s Mayonnaise
– mix in to yolks in bowl and add salt and pepper

Lay egg halves on pan sheet or if you have one, a deviled egg platter (they exist!)

Take a spoon and place yolk/mayo filling into halves

Once completed, sprinkle paprika or cayenne pepper (my favorite) over the eggs

Dice green onion and sprinkle over eggs as well (gives them more color and a nice extra bite)

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Bon Appetit!

Leave a Reply

