Bolognese!

Our fridge has been pretty stark lately, so Saturday we had a package of ground beef, but no eggs (so I couldn’t make the meatball recipe I wanted to), and was trying to think of something tasty and easy. Quick peek in the pantry gave me spaghetti noodles and a Newman’s Own container of tomato sauce, so I decided to make my first ever bolognese.

No recipes followed in the making of this bolognese, so even though a simple dish, I was quite proud of myself. 🙂

image

I took the ground beef and placed in a bowl, added fresh garlic (5 cloves), salt, pepper, lots of cayenne for spice, and mixed with my hands until completely blended. Put my pot on med-high heat with some butter and cooked meat through then added the mushrooms I had been sauteeing for the last 20 minutes (it’s good to give your mushrooms their own pan and plenty of time to sautee). Once the mushrooms were added, I immediately poured in the tomato sauce and set the pot to simmer. I let this simmer for about 30 minutes to really let the flavors set, and then started my spaghetti noodles.

It was so yummy! And for the first time ever, my boyfriend made happy noises while eating. (Ever see that scene in The Switch with Jennifer Aniston and Jason Bateman in the first scene where they’re eating lunch? That was him. haha)

Bon Appetit!

Leave a Reply

